Literature Of Ancient Egypt - Performances

Copied more-or-less from my FB wall, and while many of you may not have been in the community at this time (early 90s) there could well be interest here in exploring with me:

During my time away from the (general pagan) community I’ve been considering an interesting direction to take. Like many other pagans I’ve been in awe of Dahm The Bard and what he has done for Celtic story telling. I want to try and do something similar but for ancient Egypt. OK, I’m no musician or story teller, and not knowing things has never put me off before.

To this end, earlier in the year I had a go at reciting sections of the Songs of the Harpers at a local folk night (yeah, including the raunchy bits) and that went down well, another attempt later to tell the tale of Sekhmet’s Destruction of Mankind, did reveal that I certainly lacked some skills which by chance led to an invitation to join a story telling group to hone my skills. That is still on going.

At Witchfest this year, and yesterday with @MagpieMason the subject came up of a set of old plays my friend Lilith Babellon once told me she, and a group of friends used to perform of ancient Egyptian stories and such like, unfortunately this was long before I emerged into the community to witness.

My post then, is to call for any memories of what they were, and how they were done. I know a few of you out there were present and possibly involved. Any pointers, memories or even archived materials would be of huge benefit to this project. I want to do the gods and our 'Lil proud - especially since her Sekhmet has been breathing down my neck since I began this escapade.

Feel free to share and tag anyone who may recall anything however small.

1 Like

Found the production details I want after a tip off from Rufus: https://mirrorofisis.freeyellow.com/id422.html