KemTem Festival Calendar

Hi :wave: everyone,

I’ve been thinking about festivals. I know people celebrate the Ancient Egyptian festivals on different dates depending on how they work them out.

However, as a newbie I found it quite confusing and I wasn’t sure what dates to pick. Even now I feel a bit unsure about dates although I tend to go with the below as a guide:

https://www.ucl.ac.uk/museums-static/digitalegypt/ideology/festivaldates.html

How about a calendar project here? Would it be possible to have a calendar of festivals @kev ? I don’t know how realistic this is, but perhaps we can show the different possible dates for the same festival and the reasonings why.

What festivals do you all celebrate and on what dates? If you’d like to share the reasons why you picked your dates, that would be helpful.

I am confused as you are!
Also a newbie.
Would like to know too what the rituals would be for some of the calendar events.

Welcome Sunworshipper!

I’ve been Kemetic for about a year. I celebrated WepRonpet (Ancient Egyptian New Year) at the beginning of August last year. According to the website I shared in my first post, the celebrations start 01st August for 5 days? :woman_shrugging:t5:

I have read that someone else celebrates it on 18th July every year.

I just did some prayers and food/drink offerings at my shrine. Also wrote down things in red pen that I wanted to stop in the new year like negativity for example and burnt the paper. I think I toasted some beer to the Netjeru.

I think I’ll do things a bit differently this year, but I’ll have a think.

@Allati and I did start one up a couple of years ago but it didn’t work out too well but that was mainly due to the ‘features’ of this platform. A tabular form would work better than an interactive calendar as they can be more easily viewed and extracted for those that want them.

Here is the link to the previous attempt Festival Calendar

1 Like

Hi LittleIbis,