Changing god's/goddesses

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Kemeticism. I’m originally for a Christian background turned Atheist, turned ‘I wonder whether gods/goddesses exist’ turned, ‘I already feel a connection to Aphrodite’. From there I’ve felt connected to Thoth and Seshat. I have unintentially created alters over time to Aphrodite and Thoth before actively acknowledging them and I have started looking into Kemeticism. I’ve always had an interest in Ancient Egypt although now interested in the spirituality/religion.

I have noticed that the gods/goddesses change and amalgamate from two beings to a single being. I’m wondering how the ancient Egyptians saw their ever changing beliefs and Gods and Goddesses. What did they see as the ‘truths’ underlying it all?

1 Like

Hi. Welcome! I’m not sure if we will ever fully know, so little survives of what they actually thought in the general public, only the state view in the temples have endured. Ma’at was pretty much everything and so long as the gods and mortals upheld that everyone was happen.

As far as the gods and goddesses merging. That is a long established fact, they came and went as popularity came and went, as well as emphasis or priority in certain areas, Pharaoh’s allegiances changed.

We have to remember that all this occurred over thousands of years, and even before the unification making what we know as the dynastic period, many of these deities existed in similar and/or different forms and names among the various tribes.

Personally I don’t think it matters so much if you work with one, more than one, or stick a load together as a single deity. Composite deities existed in various stages, though I think there were more common in the later periods; the Greeks were pretty enthusiastic about doing it.